HomeColorado's Unknown Traffic Laws

Colorado’s Unknown Traffic Laws

Everyone knows that breaking common traffic laws like speeding or running stop signs is not an acceptable excuse. However, there are a few very esoteric traffic laws in Colorado that motorists must be aware of in case they routinely break them. Montrose car accident attorney can be helpful if you get into an accident.

Tire requirements for the chain law.

All vehicles must have one of these while Colorado’s Chain Law Code 15 is in effect on federal and state highways: For two-drive tires, the following options are available: snow tires, all-weather tires with dirt and snow marks, and 1/8 inch of tread, or 4-wheel drive with 1/8 inch of tread or shackles, auto-sock, etc.

Left turn laws

Drivers are not allowed to make a left turn at a junction in Colorado if an automobile is coming towards them from the other direction and they have not given them the right of way. However, after the driver has completely stopped, it is legal to turn left from one one-way road onto the other one-way street.

Move It 

Traffic delays are caused by accidents, which account for roughly 60% of all delays. Even accidents that take only ten minutes to resolve can result in delays of up to an hour. The “Move It” legislation in Colorado requires drivers who are engaged in minor accidents to move their cars to a safe area away from traffic as soon as possible if the car is still drivable, there is no alcohol or drugs engaged, and there are no injuries.

Move aside

The 2005-enacted Move Over Law in Colorado has just been revised. It is now necessary for drivers to slow down to 20 mph below the speed limit posted or 25 mph if the speed limit posted is less than 45 mph when passing a law enforcement parked vehicle in an adjacent lane.

Never park anywhere on the road.

Drivers are not permitted to leave a car parked in one of the following locations unless instructed to do so by law enforcement or in an emergency:

 

  • Junctions, crosswalks, and sidewalks
  • between a curb and a safety zone
  • next to or across from a street obstacle or excavation
  • the street’s border or curb on the highway side
  • highway tunnels, elevated buildings, or bridges
  • railway lines
  • a freeway with regulated access
  • Within the space between a split highway’s lanes

 

In Colorado, vehicles are not allowed to park five feet or fewer from a driveway, whether public or private.

Avatar

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -